No tripod required

The story of November’s wallpaper is by now familiar – end of the month, no real wallpaper contenders so far, a desperate search for something, something more than the mundane sameness of my daily commute and the immediate neighborhood.

And so I turn to Google Maps, scouring the terrain for something different, anything interesting. Then I came upon it – a series of rapids in on the Green River and access via a State Park – even better!

Check my kit – all there. Grab a tripod – no baseplate. Grab a different tripod – no baseplate. Figure I’ll just have to make do with a Joby Gorillapod. Hit the road.

As I’m nearing the turn for Kanaskat-Palmer State Park, the road crosses the Green River and from the bridge, I glance to my left and catch a glimpse of the river, trees and a railroad bridge high above the water. “That’s my shot” I say to myself and continue on to the park.

The rain over the past couple weeks has the river raging over the rapids, crowding the banks, making it hard to get a view of the river that wasn’t obscured by underbrush. I make a couple interesting pictures and then it’s time to head home. But I have a bridge to shoot on the way…

The sign said “Narrow Bridge” and it wasn’t kidding. The shoulder was no more than 15 inches wide. I wait for a gap in the traffic and rush out to mid-span, hoping no more cars come. I fire off 13 frames and head back to my car. Once I’m off the bridge, I pull one frame up and zoom in to check focus. Looks good, let’s go home.

1440X900

1920X1200

To set as your desktop wallpaper, Internet Explorer users can click on the link so that it opens to full size. Right-click on the image and select “Set as background”.

Google Chrome users will need to download the Chrome Toolbox to enable the same functionality.


Artist Websites

Leave a Reply

