Start in your backyard

Photographically, I was really happy with January – I was getting out more and making some good images. It definitely helps that my Daughter is taking another film class this quarter at the local Community College. I really enjoy the time I get to spend out and about with her for her assignments, even if most of the time I leave my own camera in the bag. It’s inspiring sometimes to see how she sees things. A little different perspective is a good thing.

I was looking forward to publishing the February wallpaper because some of the images I had were going to make it hard for me to choose which one to use. Quite unexpectedly, a morning of freezing fog handled that problem for me completely.

I could see ice crystals had formed on everything the fog touched, so I grabbed my macro lens and headed out to see what I could find.

I eventually settled on this dead pea plant that we had vining up a trellis in our backyard garden.

I guess there’s something to be learned here. There are a ton of good photographers making good photographs out there. At times, I aspire to make similar images. I tell myself that I need to get out more to take more pictures, to see more stuff.

Truth is, I don’t need to go any further than my own backyard.

That’s a good thing to remember.

2013_Feb_1920

1440X900

1920X1200

To set as your desktop wallpaper, Internet Explorer users can click on the link so that it opens to full size. Right-click on the image and select “Set as background”.

Google Chrome users will need to download the Chrome Toolbox to enable the same functionality.

Leave a Reply

