An Unexpected Ending

For a while now, I’ve been wanting to shoot some longer exposure stuff of surf on the rocks in Oregon, I’ve just not managed to get a trip planned for that purpose. Well mid-December rolls around and we find ourselves putting the lights on timers, loading up the bus, pointing it south and letting it go. What better way to end the year off than with a rather unplanned trip to Southern California? I mean, California has beaches, too, right?

Sunset at Point Mugu State Park provided the model and the lighting, all I had to do was frame it and shoot. The eight-second exposure looked alright in the camera’s LCD, but overall, I left the beach that evening a little disappointed, feeling like I didn’t get the image I was looking for.

Loaded the images in Lightroom and started poking around with exposure and gradient filters and suddenly there was an image that was exactly what I had imagined when I tripped the shutter. A little more dramatic than I would normally edit, but I really like the end result.

Wishing you a safe and happy New Year.

paul

2014_January

January 2014

To set as your desktop wallpaper, Internet Explorer users can click on the link so that it opens to full size. Right-click on the image and select “Set as background”.

Google Chrome users will need to download the Chrome Toolbox to enable the same functionality.

Leave a Reply

