Unborn

The inspiration for this picture is a little strange. For a while now, I’ve been thinking about x-ray images. Teeth, hands, bones, the transparency of the flesh.

So all of this got to rumbling around in my brain for a bit and somehow ran into the sugar snap peas we have growing in the back yard. Time to make a picture!

So I put my camera on a tripod, and affixed a pea pod to a second tripod with a spring clamp. A shady spot for a background and the sun turned up to full power…

My wife said that the image creeped her out, that it reminds her of Invasion of the Body Snatchers. To be honest, that comment really made my day! I love the veins and the shadows of the peas inside. A little back lighting has made a tasty snack completely alien.

2014_August

August 2014

iPad file

Leave a Reply

