Off the Beaten Path

I was out exploring a popular biking/hiking trail the other day. Well, not so much exploring the trail as the area off to the side of the trail. On the back side of this large tree, I saw a cluster of shelf mushrooms (I think they are called “Root Rot”). Looking closer, I spotted this lonely little slug exploring one of the shelves.

Setting up to frame the shot, I was really captivated with the little diorama I stumbled upon.

The really unexpected thing about the photo, or at least I wasn’t thinking about it when I took the picture, is the hint of fill light I’m getting off the white lining on the shelf above…

The details: Nikon D-90/Nikon Micro-Nikkor 55mm. 1/15th @ f5.6, ISO 200

2014_October

October 2014

iPad

To set as your desktop wallpaper, Internet Explorer users can click on the link so that it opens to full size. Right-click on the image and select “Set as background”.

Google Chrome users will need to download the Chrome Toolbox to enable the same functionality.

One thought on “Off the Beaten Path

Leave a Reply

